Ms. Heather’s Movie Guide – March – July 2013

Hey guys, so it’s coming up on one of my favorite times of year! BLOCKBUSTER MOVIES! I’ve got a good list here, with some of my personal comments, on those movies that you guys really shouldn’t miss over the next 3 months or so 😛 I get all my information from www.wildaboutmovies.com, and there a lot more movies there then just this list. These are only my top picks. Check it out! (All these movies are rated either PG or PG-13, in case you’re wondering)

The Croods – Out March 22, 2013 The Croods

I’m a mom, as you all know, but I’m also a child stuck in an adult’s body. Whenever a good animated movie comes out, I now have a kid to go with me, so I don’t look like a creeper :-D. The Croods is one I am going to have to see. It includes the voices of Nicolas Cage, Ryan Reynolds, and Emma Stone. I mean, come on people!

It’s about a family who live during the “Croodacious” era, a previously undiscovered time. Grug and his family become nomads after a volcanic eruption. They run across other Croods, as well as some interesting adaptations that mother nature throws in their path.

I’ve gotta see this one! I mean, come on! Emma Stone, Ryan Reynolds and Nicolas Cage, ’nuff said.

G.I. Joe: Retaliation – Out March 29, 2013 G.I. Joe Retaliation

Okay, when you combine Channing Tatum, Bruce Willis, and Dwayne Johnson (The Rock) with the “Real American Hero,” you get what will probably be one of the best action movies of the spring!

The breakdown is that Cobra is back, but on top of that they are also dealing with threats from within their own government. The team has been framed for crimes against the country and are terminated. Now, without government backing, they must keep the American people safe!

That speaks for itself, if you don’t get as excited as I do, well then, go enjoy your chick flick! 😛

42 – Out April 12, 201342

So, my Dad was a big Yankee fan. You guys know he passed away a few years ago. His birthday is April 12th, same day as the movie comes out, needless to say I will be going to see 42 on this day. 42 is about Jackie Robinson, the baseball player who broke Major League Baseball’s color barrier when he joined the Brooklyn Dodgers. So, based on some reviews, I don’t know if this movie is going to be the greatest. But, it’s got Harrison Ford, so it can’t be all that bad. You sports fan will probably check this out, maybe I’ll see you there!

Pain and Gain – Out April 26, 2013 Pain and Gain

From the same man who brought us “Bad Boys” (whatcha gonna do, whatcha gonna do when they come from you), this looks like a pretty good action/drama movie starring Mr. Mark “Marky-Mark” Wahlberg and Dwayne Johnson (The Rock again!).

The basic gist of the movie is: two bodybuilders from Florida get caught up in an extortion and kidnapping ring that all goes wrong!

Can you tell, I like action movies?

Iron Man 3 – Out May 3, 2013Iron Man 3

EEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!! I’ve been making that noise ever since the Super Bowl showed the first trailer. Robert Downey Jr., Scarlett Johansson, Gwyneth Paltrow, they’re all back, and now Ben Kingsley into the midst (GANDHI PEOPLE, GANDHI!). I will have a front row seat for this one!

Stark’s personal world is destroyed and he is on a quest to find out who is responsible. Tony Stark will need to answer the question: does the man make the suit or does the suit make the man? This better be as good as the first two, a new director is in the driver’s seat so you never know what to expect. It worked for Harry Potter, will it work for Tony Stark?

The Great Gatsby – Out May 10, 2013 The Great Gatsby

Great. Gatsby. Is. AWESOME!

For those of you who have not read the book, you likely will in high school or college. It may be something you would enjoy now. No one could write drama like F. Scott Fitzgerald. And, if you’re like me, that roaring ’20’s era is just somewhere you wish you could be! And no one like Baz Luhrmann (Romeo & Juliet, Moulin Rouge) could bring it to life better.

Again, we’ve got some big names here. Leonardo DiCaprio as the one and only Gatsby, Tobey Maguire, I think that’s all you really need to know. If you haven’t read the book expect bootlegging, millionaires, murder, jealously, and corruption. And, “Educate yourself.” people’s, as Lieutenant Pleakley, would say! Read the book before the movie comes out!

Star Trek 2: Into Darkness – Out May 17, 2013 Star Trek 2

That first “new” Star Trek came out about 3 years ago. I saw it four times in theaters, and will likely see this one just as many! Zachary Quinto, Chris Pine, and the main cast are all back. Benedict Cumberbatch (Sherlock people, Sherlock!) joins the crew as the latest villain.

The crew of the Enterprise is called back home, they find that a force from within their own organization has detonated the fleet, leaving the world in a state of crisis.

Sci-Fi, Adventure, Drama, Humor, it’s all going to be there! Hope you enjoy it as much as I will!

Epic – Out May 24, 2013 Epic

From the people who did Rio and Ice Age, now there is Epic. Featuring the voices of Colin Farrell, Amanda Seyfried, Beyoncé, and Josh Hutcherson, this movie is about the ongoing battle between the forces of good and evil and the protection of the natural world.

I’m on the fence on this one. I’m a huge Colin Farrell fan, so I’ve got to see anything he does, and this is one I can watch with my own little munchkin. It’s still a must see, even though I fear it may be one I never watch again.

Fast and Furious 6 – Out May 24, 2013 Fast and Furious 6

The crew is on the run ever since the Rio heist toppled the kingpin’s empire and the crew acquired $100 million. Paul Walker, Vin Diesel, Dwayne Johnson (THE ROCK, AGAIN!) Tyrese Gibson, and Michelle Rodriguez, all are back! The group reassembles in London with the hopes of a full pardon, but the must first stop a criminal outfit, and deal with some twists and turns along the way.

I’m hoping, and praying, for this movie. The original Fast and the Furious movie was like a dawning of the action/car racing era for me. This better be good, and you can’t not see a Fast and Furious in the theaters, it’s just not the same viewing it at home!

Much Ado About Nothing – Out June 7, 2013 Much Ado About Nothing

Again, Lieutenant Pleakley will profess “Educate Yourself!” people! Joss Whedon (The Avengers, Angel, Buffy, Firefly) takes on Shakespeare in this modern retelling of the classic comedy. He’s brought Amy Acker, Emma Bates, and Nathan Fillion to the party. This is got to be Shakespeare as you’ve never seen him before!

I’m not telling anything about it other than that, EDUCATE YOURSELF! 😛

Superman: Man of Steel – Out June 14, 2013 Superman

The origin story of Superman has been done over, and over and over again. So what’s going to make this one different? I’m hoping Henry Cavill, Diane Lane, Kevin Costner, Amy Adams, Russell Crowe, and Laurence Fishburn will. Clark Kent uses his powers to help where he can, particularly in a crisis in West Africa. But, as he questions where these powers came from, he returns to Smallville to find out what is it that makes him Superman?

I can’t pass up Superman, can you? You’re a bigger person then me if you can!

Monsters University – Out June 21, 2013 Monsters University

Okay, listen, I’ve been waiting for this movie for um…..YEARS! I don’t even know how long! Monsters, Inc. was one of the movies of my tween years. Mike and Sulley brought Disney/Pixar to life back in the early ’00’s. This movie is a prequel, a look at Mike and Sulley during their years at the University of Fear. Please, please, Monster Hazing! Please!

John Goodman, Billy crystal, and Steve Buscemi are back. There is no way this is going to go bad, none. See it people!

The Lone Ranger – Out July 3, 2013 The Lone Ranger

Johnny Depp as Tonto, that’s all you need to know.

Despicable Me 2 – Out July 3, 2013 Despicable Me 2

Minions, that’s all you need to know.

Turbo – Out July 19, 2013 Turbo

Ryan Reynolds (again!), Paul Giammati, and Luis Guzman are just some of those voicing this adorable looking movie about a garden snail with an impossible dream, to win the Indy 500. A freak accident gives him extraordinary speed, so this little snail sets out to make his dream come true.

I’ve previewed the video game, and its awesome! and hysterical! I’m going to assume that the movie will be the same!

The Wolverine – Out July 26, 2013 The Wolverine

So this is the sequel to the 2009 movie, Wolverine. Logan is in Japan, where samurai steel clashes with adamantium skeleton as he confronts a mysterious figure from his past. This looks really interesting, could go either way, though. One that if you need to drop off the list and wait for the DVD, I would.

The Smurfs 2 – Out July 31, 2013 The Smurfs 2

There are some movies my daughter watches over and over again and I just groan when they are put into the DVD player. The Smurfs, is not one of them. I love that movie with Neil Patrick Harris bopping around with little blue….well, Smurfs! And now they’re back! OMG!

Gargamel creates a couple Smurf dopplegangers, called the Naughties, who he hopes will harness that all-powerful, magical, Smurfy-ness. But, only a real Smurf can give him this, and only Smurfette holds the key, so what does Gargamel do? Kidnap her, and bring her to Paris. The Smurf’s must gain the help of their human friends Patrick and Grace, and race against time to save the one and only girl Smurf! Yeah, I’m not missing this, and I can’t wait to go with my daughter!

So, that’s it guys. Pretty long list for only a couple months of movie watching. Hope you enjoy these as much as I hope I will! See you guys soon!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.